Show simple item record

dc.contributorSutton, Robert B.
dc.creatorFawcett, Novice G. (Novice Gail), 1909-
dc.descriptionJohn Millett: former President of Miami University; later Chancellor of Ohio Bd. Of Regents -- Stanley Allyn: CEO of National Cash Register (NCR); also member of Bd. Of Trustees -- Edward "Ned" Moulton: former Chancellor of OSU Bd. Of Regents -- Dr. Greg Golding: President of Wright State (p. 6) -- Dr. John Baker: President of Ohio University (pp. 7-8) -- Senator Gardner of Mansfield: (pp. 9, 12) -- Dr. James Heck: Director of the Mansfield campus (p. 16) -- Dr. John Weaver: key figure in founding and defining University College (pp. 9-10) -- John Ramseyer (p. 20) -- Fred Heimberger: Academic VP (pp. 20-1) -- Jim Fullington: Dean of College of Arts & Sciences -- Dr. Thomas Wilke: Vice Provost (pp. 22-3)en
dc.description.abstractThis document deals with the founding of the four regional branches of Ohio State (Newark, Lima, Mansfield, and Marion), the University College in Columbus, and also the founding of Wright State University in Dayton. It details the unusual and successful cooperation of Ohio State, Miami University, University of Dayton, and National Cash Register to start Wright State in 1960 on a campus of 625 acres, all done initially without any state money. As for the founding of the four branch campuses, none had existed when Dr. Fawcett became President of OSU in 1956. At that time Ohio University was starting various branches, contrary to the wishes of other state universities, including possibly a branch campus of Ohio University less than three miles from OSU. Academic centers were started in Newark and Marion “to block off Ohio University spread over the state.” Centers in Lima and Mansfield soon followed. Fund drives were successful in all four cities, and “so we had four free-standing regional campuses.” Fawcett envisioned a temporary association of Ohio State with the four branches, “but they got to be permanent in nature.” And he added “they really have been rather remarkable developments.” Later issues, such as tenure of faculty, and transfer of course credits to Columbus, “all evolved finally to correspond exactly with the rules and regulations of the central campus.” There is brief mention of the founding of the Columbus Technical Institute (later Columbus State), the Agricultural Institute in Wooster, and University College. Fawcett revisits a theme discussed in his Feb. 16 interview, that of the academic reorganization of the various colleges, particularly the unwieldy College of Arts and Sciences.en
dc.format.extent62214 bytes
dc.publisherOhio State University Archivesen
dc.relation.isformatof1 audio tape available in the University Archivesen
dc.relation.ispartofseriesOhio State University. University Archives Oral History Program. Ohio State University Oral History Projecten
dc.subjectWright State Universityen
dc.subjectOhio State University. University Collegeen
dc.subjectNewark Regional Campusen
dc.subjectLima Regional Campusen
dc.subjectMansfield Regional Campusen
dc.subjectMarion Regional Campusen
dc.subject.lcshDemonstrations -- Ohio -- Columbusen
dc.subject.lcshInter-University Council for Higher Education Overseasen
dc.subject.lcshOhio State University. Research Foundationen
dc.subject.lcshOhio Board of Regentsen
dc.subject.lcshOhio State University. Board of Trusteesen
dc.subject.lcshFawcett, Novice G. (Novice Gail), 1909- -- Archivesen
dc.subject.lcshOhio State University -- Presidents -- Records and correspondenceen
dc.subject.lcshOhio State University -- Riot, April-May 1970en
dc.subject.lcshOhio State University -- History -- Sourcesen
dc.subject.lcshFawcett, Novice G. (Novice Gail), 1909- -- Interviewsen
dc.subject.otherOSU Presidentsen
dc.titleInterview of Novice G. Fawcett by Robert B. Sutton on April 09, 1984en

Files in this item


Items in Knowledge Bank are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Show simple item record