The Ohio State University commemorates 100 years of dairy science

Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:

Show simple item record

Files Size Format View
OSU_dairy_science_centennial.pdf 2.048Mb PDF View/Open

dc.creator Palmquist, D. L.
dc.creator Conrad, H. R.
dc.creator Eastridge, M. L.
dc.creator Firkins, J. L. 2007-01-17T13:45:41Z 2007-01-17T13:45:41Z 2006
dc.description This poster was prepared for the American Dairy Science Association's centennial and presented at the joint annual meeting of the American Dairy Science Association and the American Society of Animal Science, held July 9-13, 2006 in Minneapolis Minnesota. en
dc.description The University Archives has determined that this item is of continuing value to OSU's history. en
dc.description.abstract From 1892 until merged in 1982 teaching and extension activities of dairy science were located at The Ohio State University in Columbus, whereas research was at the Experiment Station (now OARDC) in Wooster. Oscar Erf, first dairy professor (1907) at OSU, used the Babcock test to relate OSU teaching to dairy farmers. Dairy research was initiated in 1910 (butter quality) by A.E. Perkins. Nutrition and milk quality have been strengths of the department; mineral and protein nutrition studies were begun by E.B. Forbes (1907) and Perkins (1913). These, with vitamin nutrition and rumen digestion, were continued (1926-present) by W.E. Krauss, T.S. Sutton, W.D. Pounden, J.W. Hibbs, H.R. Conrad, and W.P. Weiss. K.L. Smith, Conrad, Weiss and J.S. Hogan did landmark research relating vitamin E, selenium and environmental mastitis. Weiss, Conrad and N. St-Pierre made important contributions to forage evaluation by quantifying the surface effect of lignin on cell wall digestion, and developed equations to estimate energy value of feeds from laboratory analyses. Rumen kinetic studies of forages, 15N and role of protozoa in rumen metabolism were introduced by J.L. Firkins. D.L. Palmquist measured lipid metabolism and utilization of dietary fat, leading to development of calcium soaps as an energy supplement for dairy cows. M.L. Eastridge has led studies in application of feeding systems. W. Harvey, F. Allaire and St-Pierre contributed fundamental knowledge on statistical models for research and management decisions. Other leaders: N. Fechheimer, chromosome aberrations, for which he was named a University scholar; N.L.VanDemark and R. Gomes, physiology of testes; J. L. Pate, expression of histocompatibility complex on corpus luteum; T. Ludwick, artificial insemination; F.L. Schanbacher, lactoferrin and milk proteins; and L.B. Willett, environmental contaminants in milk. Dairy faculty are recipients of 20 ADSA awards and 3 have been recognized as Fellows. F. Ely was ADSA president (1947-48) and Sutton, G.H. Schmidt and Weiss were editors of J. Dairy Science. OSU hosted ADSA annual meetings in 1938, 1968 and 1992. en
dc.description.sponsorship Ohio State University. Department of Animal Sciences. en
dc.format.extent 2148281 bytes
dc.format.mimetype application/pdf
dc.language.iso en_US en
dc.subject dairy science en
dc.subject history en
dc.title The Ohio State University commemorates 100 years of dairy science en
dc.type Presentation en
dc.type.genre Poster en_US