Roman Coin Collection (Department of Classics)

Permanent URI for this collection

The forty-four coins in this collection range in time from the last quarter of the 2nd century BCE to the first half of the third century CE. Several denominations are represented, denarius, sestertius, antoninianus and tetra- and didrachm, as are a couple of metals, primarily silver and bronze/orichalchum. Most of the coins were minted in Rome, but there are several provincial mints represented as well. Twenty-five coins are from the Republican period and nineteen are from the Empire. Please see the catalog for more information about the collection.


Recent Submissions

Now showing 1 - 20 of 46