Research and Scholarship (Department of Animal Sciences)

Permanent URI for this collection


Recent Submissions

Now showing 1 - 2 of 2
  • Item
    The Ohio State University commemorates 100 years of dairy science
    (2006) Palmquist, D. L.; Conrad, H. R.; Eastridge, M. L.; Firkins, J. L.
    From 1892 until merged in 1982 teaching and extension activities of dairy science were located at The Ohio State University in Columbus, whereas research was at the Experiment Station (now OARDC) in Wooster. Oscar Erf, first dairy professor (1907) at OSU, used the Babcock test to relate OSU teaching to dairy farmers. Dairy research was initiated in 1910 (butter quality) by A.E. Perkins. Nutrition and milk quality have been strengths of the department; mineral and protein nutrition studies were begun by E.B. Forbes (1907) and Perkins (1913). These, with vitamin nutrition and rumen digestion, were continued (1926-present) by W.E. Krauss, T.S. Sutton, W.D. Pounden, J.W. Hibbs, H.R. Conrad, and W.P. Weiss. K.L. Smith, Conrad, Weiss and J.S. Hogan did landmark research relating vitamin E, selenium and environmental mastitis. Weiss, Conrad and N. St-Pierre made important contributions to forage evaluation by quantifying the surface effect of lignin on cell wall digestion, and developed equations to estimate energy value of feeds from laboratory analyses. Rumen kinetic studies of forages, 15N and role of protozoa in rumen metabolism were introduced by J.L. Firkins. D.L. Palmquist measured lipid metabolism and utilization of dietary fat, leading to development of calcium soaps as an energy supplement for dairy cows. M.L. Eastridge has led studies in application of feeding systems. W. Harvey, F. Allaire and St-Pierre contributed fundamental knowledge on statistical models for research and management decisions. Other leaders: N. Fechheimer, chromosome aberrations, for which he was named a University scholar; N.L.VanDemark and R. Gomes, physiology of testes; J. L. Pate, expression of histocompatibility complex on corpus luteum; T. Ludwick, artificial insemination; F.L. Schanbacher, lactoferrin and milk proteins; and L.B. Willett, environmental contaminants in milk. Dairy faculty are recipients of 20 ADSA awards and 3 have been recognized as Fellows. F. Ely was ADSA president (1947-48) and Sutton, G.H. Schmidt and Weiss were editors of J. Dairy Science. OSU hosted ADSA annual meetings in 1938, 1968 and 1992.
  • Item
    How to judge horses and cattle: an agricultural reader
    (F.A. Owens; Hall & McCreary, 1907) Plumb, Charles Sumner